Rockwell Institute Home Page Real Estate Training Since 1974
(800) 221-9347
Email Rockwell Institute
Log into your real estate course

Search:

Please note: Our office will be CLOSED on Monday, SEPT. 1st for Labor Day.

Get a Washington Real Estate Broker's License




Washington State Licensing Requirements


New Real Estate License Law

As of July 1, 2010, Washington's new license law took effect. Under this law, a salesperson became a broker, and a broker became a managing broker.



Basic Licensing Requirements

Registering for the Exam

The Examination Itself

If I Pass/Fail?


Basic Licensing Requirements

Question: What are the requirements for a real estate broker's license in Washington?

Answer: You must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma, have successfully completed two approved prelicense courses (a 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals and a 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices), and pass the state licensing exam.

Return to Top



Question: I have a salesperson's or broker's license in another state. Do I still have to complete Washington's prelicense education requirements?

Answer: If you are actively licensed in the same capacity or a greater capacity in another jurisdiction, prelicense education will not be required, and you will have to take only the Washington portion of the exam (not the National portion). Send a letter to the Washington Department of Licensing (DOL) requesting a waiver based on your out-of-state license. At the same time, ask the regulatory agency in the other state to send the DOL a license history showing that you have been actively licensed in good standing in that state within the past six months. You won't be allowed to schedule an exam until your waiver has been approved by the DOL, which will take approximately two weeks.

Return to Top



Question: I took some real estate courses at a college. Will any of these courses count towards the prelicense education requirement?

Answer: The Director of the Department of Licensing may waive the prelicense education requirement if it is determined that an applicant has completed the equivalent educational course work at any institution of higher learning or degree-granting institution. Submit documentation of the equivalent education to the DOL and allow two weeks for approval.

Return to Top



Question: I took equivalent course work in another state but never obtained my license. Do I still have to completed the prelicense education?

Answer: The DOL may waive the prelicense education requirement if you can document that you have successfully completed an equivalent course (or courses) in another jurisdiction. Submit your documentation to the DOL and obtain approval before attempting to schedule your examination.

Return to Top



Question: Where do I send my documentation?

Answer:

Real Estate Licensing
PO Box 9015
Olympia, WA 98507-9015

Return to Top


Registering for the Exam

Question: How do I register for my examination?

Answer: Before you can schedule your state exam, you must register with AMP. To register as a Washington real estate prelicense student, complete the following steps:

  • Go to www.goAMP.com, and click on the "Portals" tab at the top.
  • Click on Washington Student User.
  • Click on New Student Registration.
  • Fill in the required information (Be VERY CAREFUL to fill it in accurately, with the same information that appears on your certificate, and be sure to use the same email address that Rockwell has on file for you. (Call us if you want to use a different email address.) Click the Submit button.
You only need to register with AMP once. Do not create duplicate accounts, even if you receive multiple emails.

If you completed one of your required courses BEFORE May 1, 2012, you must send AMP a copy of your course certificate (via fax or email) before you will be allowed to register for the exam. Rockwell is not allowed to send AMP this course information directly. To learn how to send AMP your course certificate, view the instructions on AMP's website. Note that Rockwell certificates are in a PDF format, so if you save this file to your computer, you can attach the PDF file to the email you send AMP and avoid having to scan or fax your certificate. If you have questions about saving this certificate as a PDF file, please call us.

When you have finished your required courses (Washington Real Estate Fundamentals and Washington Real Estate Practices), AMP will automatically email you an invitation to register for your licensing examination. Once you receive this email, you will be able to schedule your state exam.

If you have any questions about this process, you can email AMP at info@goamp.com or call them at (800) 345-6559.

Return to Top



Question: How quickly can I get an exam date?

Answer: Reservations are made according to the test site's capacity and seating availability. AMP testing centers handle license applicants from a number of different fields and sometimes a testing center becomes congested. Two-week delays are not uncommon.

Return to Top



Question: Where are the tests given?

Answer: There are nine test sites in Washington. Their locations are:

Code Location
1H&R Block
15015 Main Street
Suite 111B
Bellevue, WA 98007
2H&R Block
1601 N. Division
Suite I
Spokane, WA 99207
3H&R Block
7626 S. Tacoma Way
Tacoma, WA 98409
4Farmers Insurance
1340 N. 16th Ave
Suite A
Yakima, WA 98902
5H&R Block
7010 Evergreen Way
Everett, WA 98203
6H&R Block
4018 W. Clearwater Avenue
Kennewick, WA 99336
7H&R Block
636 Valley Mall Parkway
Suite A4
East Wenatchee, WA 98802
8Vancounver, Washington
Executive Center Northwest
4001 NE Main Street
Vancouver, WA 98663
9Seattle, Washington
H&R Block
113 1st Ave N
Seattle, WA 98109

Return to Top



Question: What is the examination fee?

Answer: The exam fee is $138.25, regardless of whether you're taking the entire examination or just the Washington portion. You must pay the exam fee when you register to take the exam, by credit card, debit card, cashier's check, morney order, or personal check made payable to AMP. Payment by cash is not accepted.

DON'T MISS YOUR EXAM DATE. If you don't appear at the scheduled time and date, fail to change your exam date within the guidelines set by AMP, or if you wish to reschedule more than once, your exam fee will not be refunded.

Return to Top



Question: What if I have to cancel or change my exam date?

Answer: You may reschedule your examination appointment at no charge once online at www.goamp.com or by calling AMP at (800) 345-6559 at least one business day prior to the scheduled testing session.

Return to Top



Question: What if it's an emergency and I'm not able to cancel or change within the designated time frame?

Answer: In the event of inclement weather or unforeseen emergencies on the day of an examination, AMP will determine whether circumstances warrant the cancellation, and subsequent rescheduling, of an examination. The examination will usually not be rescheduled if the Assessment Center personnel are able to open the Assessment Center.

You may visit AMPís website at www.goamp.com prior to the examination to determine if AMP has been advised that any Assessment Centers are closed.

If an examination is canceled at an Assessment Center, all scheduled candidates will receive notification following the examination regarding rescheduling or reapplication procedures.

If power to an Assessment Center is temporarily interrupted during an administration, your examination will be restarted. The responses provided up to the point of interruption will be intact, but for security reasons the questions will be scrambled.

Return to Top



Question: Does AMP have any special testing arrangements for applicants with disabilities?

Answer: AMP will provide reasonable accommodations for candidates with disabilities. Candidates requesting special accommodations must call AMP at (800) 345-6559 to schedule their examination.

Wheelchair access is available at all testing centers. Candidates must advise AMP at the time of scheduling that wheelchair access is necessary.

Candidates with visual, sensory, physical or learning disabilities that would prevent them from taking the examination under standard conditions may request special accommodations.

Verification of the disability and a statement of the specific type of assistance needed must be made in writing to AMP at least 45 calendar days prior to your desired exam date by completing the Request for Special Examination Accommodations and Documentation of Disability-Related Needs forms included in the Candidate Handbook. AMP will contact you regarding your request for accommodations within 10 business days of receipt.

Return to Top



Question: I'm hearing-impaired. Can I still communicate with AMP by telephone?

Answer: AMP is equipped with Telecommunication Devices for the Deaf (TDD) to assist deaf and hearing-impaired candidates. TDD calling is available 6:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) Monday-Friday at (913) 895-4637. This TDD phone option is for individuals equipped with compatible TDD machinery.

Return to Top



Question: Are there any test center policies?

Answer: The following policies are observed at every AMP test site:

  • If you arrive more than 15 minutes late, after your examination appointment, you will not be admitted to the exam and your exam fee will be forfeited.
  • Calculators are permitted but they cannot have alphabet keys or printing capability, and they may not be programmable. They must be battery or solar powered (battery-powered is the safer option).
  • Cellular phones, cameras, beepers, or any other electronic devices are not permitted during testing, and there is no place for storage of your personal belongings.
  • Dictionaries, books, or reference materials are not permitted in the testing room. Anyone found with these or any other aids such as watch alarms, listening devices, or recording or photographic devices while their test is in progress will not be allowed to complete the exam.
  • You will be provided with one piece of scratch paper to use at a time during the examination, which must be returned to the proctor at the completion of testing, or you will not receive a score report. No documents or notes of any kind may be removed from the examination room.
  • No questions concerning the content of the examination may be asked during the examination.
  • You are not permitted to take personal belongings such as briefcases, large bags, study materials, extra books, or papers into the examination room. Only keys and wallets may be taken into the examination room.
  • You are not permitted to eat, drink, or smoke during the examination.
  • Under no circumstances will you be permitted to spend longer than three and a half hours taking the test.
  • You may leave the room during the exam with permission from the proctor, but you won't be allowed any extra time for the exam.
  • Anyone discovered causing a disturbance of any kind or engaging in any kind of misconduct—giving or receiving help; using notes, books, or other aids; taking part in an act of impersonation; or removing examination materials or notes from the examination room—will be summarily dismissed from the examination, his score will not be reported, and the exam fee will not be refunded.

Return to Top



The Examination Itself

Question: What should I bring to the exam site?

Answer: You should bring all of the following:

  • Two pieces of signature-bearing I.D., one with a photo
  • Ordinary calculator

During your examination process, you will be required to provide biometric verification of your identity. Biometric identification may include photography, fingerprint scan, or other. Your examination session is also subject to video surveillance. If you do not agree to these conditions, you will not be able to test and will be excused from the Assessment Center. Your examination fee will NOT be refunded.

Return to Top



Question: What kind of examination will I be taking?

Answer: You will take an electronic test that consists of 140 multiple-choice questions. The test is divided into two sections: 100 of the questions will make up the National portion of the exam; the remaining 30 questions pertain only to Washington. You must score a minimum of 70% on each section.

In addition, the National section and the Washington section of the exam will each include five "pretest" questions. This brings the total number of questions you will answer to 140. However, the pretest questions are included only for analysis by the testing service and do not affect your score. But you won't know which questions are in the pretest group, so you must answer every question to the best of your ability.

Return to Top



Question: How are the questions structured?

Answer: Each question on the examination is in a four-option, multiple-choice format with only one correct answer. Test scores are based on the number of questions answered correctly, so it is better to answer every question, even if you are guessing.

Return to Top



Question: What are the subjects tested?

Answer: The following is a brief summary of the topics routinely tested:

National Section:

  • Real property characteristics, definitions, ownership, restrictions, and transfer
    • Definitions, descriptions, and ways to hold title
      • Elements of real and personal property
      • Property description and legal description
      • Estates in real property
      • Forms, rights, interests, and obligations of ownership
    • Land use controls and restrictions
      • Public (e.g., zoning, taxation, police power)
      • Private (e.g., liens, encumbrances, recording and priorities, subdivision/association rules)
    • Transfer/alienation of title to real property
      • Voluntary and involuntary
      • Deeds, warranties, and defects in title
  • Assessing and explaining property valuation and the appraisal process
    • Principles, types, and estimates of property value
    • Influence on property values
    • Approaches to property valuation and investment analysis
  • Contracts, agency relationships with buyers and sellers, and federal requirements
    • Contract elements, types (e.g., valid, enforceable), and terminology
    • Agency employment contracts, listing and buyer agency agreements, and required elements
    • Purchase/sales contracts and contingencies
    • General agency relationships and fiduciary responsibilities
    • Property conditions and disclosures (e.g., property, environmental)
    • Procedures and laws governing real estate activities (e.g., Federal Fair Housing Act, Americans with Disabilities Act, antitrust, marketing controls)
  • Financing the transaction and settlement
    • Financing components
      • Financing instruments (e.g., notes, mortgages, contract for deed, deed of trust)
      • Sources (e.g., primary and secondary mortgage markets, seller financing)
      • Types of loans
      • Financing concepts and terminology
    • Lender requirements and obligations
    • Settlement procedures
    • Settlement documents (e.g., title review, RESPA)
    • Financing costs, property taxation, proration calculations, and other closing costs
  • Leases, rents and property management
    • Types and elements of leasehold estates, leases, lease clauses, and rental agreements
    • Lessor and lessee rights, responsibilities, and recourse
    • Management contracts and obligations of parties

Washington Supplement:

Both the broker's exam and the managing broker's exam contain questions testing Washington real estate statutes and rules applicable to licensees. In addition, the managing broker's exam contains questions on real estate closing statements.

The exams also have ten pretest questions: five in the General section and five in the Washington section. These pretest questions are distributed randomly throughout the test and they are not identified as pretest questions, so you will have to answer every question. The pretest questions do not affect your score, however.

Return to Top



Question: How is the exam administered?

Answer: Your examination will be administered on a computer, which eliminates the use of paper and pencil answer sheets. The system records your responses and automatically times the examination.

You are allowed to change your answers, skip questions, and mark questions for later review. Knowledge of computers and typing are absolutely NOT required. You can take a brief tutorial before beginning your exam, but the system is so uncomplicated that you will understand it fully within a few minutes.

Return to Top



Question: How long will it take to get my exam results?

Answer: Your examination is scored immediately after you complete it. You leave the test center knowing whether you passed or failed.

Return to Top



Question: How much time do I have to complete the exam?

Answer: You have three and a half hours. (The timer doesn't begin until you have answered your first question.) Typically an applicant will complete the exam somewhere between two and three hours.

Return to Top



If I Pass/Fail?

Question: When I pass the exam, what's next?

Answer: When you pass the examination, your examination report will include information on how to apply for a license. The passing score report you receive from AMP has two parts. One is the notification of your results. The other is the final application for a license. You must complete the application and return it along with the proper fees to the Department of Licensing (DOL).

The part of the score report you are instructed to retain is an interim license valid for a period of up to forty-five (45) days after the postmark date or date of hand delivery of the application and fees to the DOL.

Return to Top



Question: What if I'm not ready to activate my license right away?

Answer: You can pay the fee and activate your license under a real estate brokerage, or you can pay the fee and place your license on an inactive status without associating with a brokerage. As long as you pay the license renewal fee (every two years) your license can remain inactive indefinitely.

Return to Top



Question: How long are my exam results valid?

Answer: You have 12 months to pay the fee and obtain your license.

Return to Top



Question: What if I fail the exam?

Answer: The exam is divided into two parts: the National section and the State Law section. You must pass both sections with minimum scores of 70% to be eligible for a license. If you pass one part, but not the other, you will be required to retake only the failed segment, provided you retake and pass that segment within six (6) months of initial failure. After that you will have to take the entire exam to be eligible for a license.

Return to Top



Question: Is there a limit to the number of times a person can take the examination?

Answer: For all intents and purposes the answer is no. An individual can continue retaking the exam until a passing score is received. (You must pay the normal exam fee each time you take the exam.)

Return to Top



Question: If I fail, how soon can I retake the examination?

Answer: You must wait twenty-four (24) hours before rescheduling an examination and the earliest possible exam date would be one business day after that.

Return to Top



Click here to enroll now
Rockwell Institute on Facebook Facebook Follow RockwellSchool on Twitter Twitter

Rockwell's Videos on View Rockwell's helpful videos on YouTube

RealEstateSchoolWire.com - Rockwell Blog Rockwell's Blog

   


Newsletter
Want course announcements & discounts sent right to your inbox? Sign up for our monthly e-newsletter.
Click here to sign up

Real Estate Training since 1974



Rockwell Institute is a BBB Accredited Real Estate School in Bellevue, WA
Rockwell Institute 13218 NE 20th Street Bellevue, WA 98005 · (800) 221-9347 · (425) 747-7272 · Fax: 1-800-242-6734
Home | Contact Us | About Rockwell | Real Estate Glossary | Technical Information | Refund Policy | Privacy Policy | Site Map | Log In
Copyright © 2000-2014 by Rockwell Publishing. All rights reserved.