Here's what you need to renew your Washington Real Estate license
The information below is a summary of the minimum requirements set forth by the Washington State Department of Licensing. For a more detailed requirements breakdown, please see the board's site.
If you hold Real Estate licenses in multiple states, please make sure to check each state's requirements.
First Time Renewal Hours Required by Washington Real Estate Commission: 90 hours.
•30-hour Advanced Practices Course
•30-hour Washington Real Estate Law Course
•3-hour Washington Core Curriculum
•6-hour The Washington Real Estate Fair Housing Course**
•21 elective hours
**As of June 1, 2022, Substitute Senate Bill 5378 requires education on Fair Housing for all Real Estate Brokers and Managing Brokers for new licensees and renewals.
· DOL will allow Licensees until June 1, 2023, to take the Fair Housing 6-hour course.
· Each subsequent renewal Brokers and Managing Brokers must complete the Washington Real Estate Fair Housing (3hr) course to stay compliant with WA education requirements.
Final Exam: While students are required to demonstrate mastery of the content at certain levels of the course, there is no passing score requirement for an online virtual classroom course final exam. A correspondence course has no required quizzes throughout the course, and instead has a final exam passing score requirement of at least 70%.
Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary but are generally 6 months after enrollment date.
Certificate: With few exceptions, online course completion certificates are available for download at course conclusion and posted directly to your student dashboard.
Note: This license renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It's ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.